Drive-By Shooting Laws
As written in A.R.S. 13-1209, a person commits drive-by shooting by intentionally discharging a weapon from a motor vehicle at a person, another occupied motor vehicle, or at an occupied structure. The law does not require the offender to actually strike a victim with a bullet in order to be charged.
Drive-by shooting is a class 2 felony, for which first-time offenders can be sentenced to up to 12.5 years of incarceration.
In addition, the offender must surrender their driver’s license to be invalidated or destroyed. By court order, the offender will also have their driving privileges revoked for a period of at least one year and, at most, five years as ordered by the judge. The motor vehicle used in the drive-by shooting event will be subject to forfeiture.
Offenders of drive-by shooting can be charged with additional crimes related to the drive-by shooting offense. In September 2023, a Goodyear woman was arrested for a drive-by shooting charge at a local Wal-Mart, as reported by Abigail Celaya of the Arizona Republic. She was additionally charged with aggravated assault with a deadly weapon, endangerment, criminal damage, and disorderly conduct with a weapon with her bond set as $25,000.
RIDEOUT LAW GROUP
With offices in Lake Havasu City and Scottsdale, our firm serves the entire state of Arizona, with a particular focus on criminal defense, family law, and juvenile cases.
Our goal is for the best outcome for your criminal case, which can include:
- charges that are reduced or dropped.
- top experts reviewing your case.
- aggressive negotiations with the prosecution for plea bargains.
- fines or probation in lieu of jail time.
At Rideout Law Group, our attorneys are able to expertly examine the evidence in your case to provide a strong strategy for argument that leads to an outcome that is most favorable to you. We have experience in all types of criminal cases for both adults and juveniles, with positive outcomes both in plea negotiations as well as jury trial settings.
Call us today for a free consultation at 480-584-3328.