Minor in Possession (MIP) / Minor in Consumption (MIC) Charges

Minor in possession, minor in consumption.

Minor in Possession (MIP) / Minor in Consumption (MIC) Charges

Arizona is home to several major universities that attract and house students from around the country as well as internationally. As these students learn to navigate adult livelihood and responsibility, they are also faced with complicated situations with which they may have little to no experience in handling.

One of the most common scenarios these 18, 19, and 20 year old young adults go toe-to-toe with is that of underage drinking. In an environment where they may have formed social circles with students who are of legal drinking age, as well as being surrounded by underage students openly enjoying alcohol at various parties or events, many underage college students believe that underage drinking is “no big deal” and won’t result in serious penalties. In fact, A.R.S. 4-244 makes underage drinking (minor in consumption, or MIC), and even underage possession (minor in possession, or MIP) of alcohol, unlawful.

Minor in Consumption (MIC)

According to statute, it is illegal in Arizona for anyone under the age of 21 to have any spiritous liquor in their body, otherwise known as a “Minor in Consumption” charge.

Those found drinking while underage can be charged with a class 2 misdemeanor, which can result in incarceration of up to four months. In addition, they may be fined up to $750 and will be issued a citation.

Important to note is that law enforcement will often not perform sobriety tests when they storm a college party, meaning MIC citations may be issued to any partygoer regardless of whether or not they were actually drinking.

Minor in Possession (MIP)

Underage individuals who are not actively drinking can still face criminal charges for simply having alcoholic beverages in their possession, otherwise known as “Minor in Possession” charges. In fact, these charges are more harsh than Minor in Consumption charges.

Minors in possession of alcoholic beverages can be charged with a class 1 misdemeanor, for which they may face incarceration of up to six months and can receive a citation mandating a fine of up to $2500.

Related Charges

In addition to Minor in Consumption and Minor in Possession charges, those who partake in underage drinking may also face the following:

Individuals under age 21 who purchase alcohol using a fake ID can be charged with a class 1 misdemeanor, resulting in fines up to $2500, jail up to six months, and a temporary revoking of their driver’s license.

Individuals under age 21 who ask someone else to provide alcohol to them, whether through purchase or other means, can be charged with a class 3 misdemeanor. This can result in fines up to $500, jail up to six months, and a temporary revoking of their driver’s license.

Individuals under age 21 who drive while under the influence of alcohol can be charged with a class 1 misdemeanor, with consequences similar to that of an adult DUI. However, a person under the age of 21 who is found to have driven while under the influence of alcohol may also have their license suspended for two years.


Any underage person facing Minor in Possession, Minor in Consumption, or any other charges related to underage drinking should seek a Rideout Law Group attorney right away. What may have seemed like a harmless action at a college party can quickly become a criminal conviction that affects the offender’s future.



With offices in Lake Havasu City and Scottsdale, our firm serves the entire state of Arizona, with a particular focus on criminal defense, family law, and juvenile cases.

Our goal is for the best outcome for your criminal case, which can include:

  • charges that are reduced or dropped.
  • top experts reviewing your case.
  • aggressive negotiations with the prosecution for plea bargains.
  • fines or probation in lieu of jail time.

At Rideout Law Group, our attorneys are able to expertly examine the evidence in your case to provide a strong strategy for argument that leads to an outcome that is most favorable to you. We have experience in all types of criminal cases for both adults and juveniles, with positive outcomes both in plea negotiations as well as jury trial settings.

Call us today for a free consultation at 480-584-3328.

Scroll to Top
This site is registered on wpml.org as a development site. Switch to a production site key to remove this banner.